A film about vaginismus

Find support and treatment options from participants and Maze Women’s Health staff.

Home Forums Vaginismus Support Group Vaginismus Advocacy A film about vaginismus

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    kelseroo
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I’m eagerly anticipating my procedure which is April 22nd. I have a countdown app on my phone counting down the days. My husband and I have booked our flights and hotel and we are so excited and nervous! It will be my husbands first trip to the east coast (we live in CA) and my first trip to New England. We are planning on exploring Boston MA and also York and Portland ME while we are there. As my anticipation grows for the trip and and the life changes to come, I can’t help but thnk that I need to make a film about this.

I am a filmmaker (I work as a cinematographer & editor for a company that makes wedding and commercial films) and I am always telling other people’s stories, but I finally have a story to tell, and I feel like there are so many other women out there whose struggles are so similar to mine who may relate. I guess I’m just nervous to put myself out there and be so vulnerable to people outside my little circle. I have literally told no one about my vaginismus except my mother in law (who is helping us pay for the procedure) and one of my best friends and boss, who needed to know why I was taking time off from work and traveling to NH!