How do I know if I have Vaginismus?

Find support and treatment options from participants and Maze Women’s Health staff.

Home Forums Vaginismus Support Group Vaginismus General How do I know if I have Vaginismus?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    emgb93
    Participant

Hello, how does one get diagnosed with Vaginismus? I am 29 and have struggled with pain with penetration for my entire life up to this point. Never was able to use tampons. I never knew anything could be wrong and figured it was just me. I finally got into a serious relationship and went to the doctor as doing anything sexual was becoming an issue for me. I ended up having a procedure to remove excess tissue but the doctor said everything looked good once it was done. She referred me to pelvic floor therapy which I have been doing for the last 5 months. I am up to the 4th dilator but it takes me an excess of 30 min to fully insert and about the half way point I feel an excruciating stinging / burning sensation. It is very painful and unless my therapist is doing it for me I cannot do this myself. No one has mentioned vaginismus to me. I know the muscles are tight down there and my therapist just keeps telling me to use the dilators. My fiancé and I would love to have a family but at this point I feel hopeless about being able to have sex.

Persevere
    Participant

Hi emgb93,